How much did I pay for a Breaking Bad style Facebook cover picture?

Breaking Bad is one of the best drama series I have ever watched on television.  I was happy when it won the Prime-time Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series this year because, frankly, the show deserved it!

I came upon the show by happenstance.  I was bored from watching CSI and almost gave up on any other crime-related programs when, luckily, I tuned into AMC and caught the very first episode of the series.  I was hooked at once!

I like the series because I sympathize a lot with the main character, Walter White.  When the show began, he was a teacher who was relatively happy until he received the news that he had lung cancer.  With a pregnant wife and mounting medical bills, he decided to go into metamphetamine production and distribution to secure his family financially.  He was not really forced into this decision but willingly chose to make and sell the illegal drug together with his former high school student, Jesse.

Walter’s attempts to improve the quality of his product and his distribution model were hilarious.  But later on, the gravity of his situation and the delicacy with which he tried to balance everything out in his life hit home.  We all have our crosses to bear and the decisions we make could either make us or break us.  Walter’s choice to cook crystal meth looked like a good way to earn a lot of money fast, but the consequences that arose cost him a lot.  Watching him trying his best to crawl out of the trouble he dug himself into was hard at times and I was forced to reflect on the hard decisions that I myself had to make in my own life.

To further celebrate the show’s success, I decided to go on Fiverr.com —a website that lets you hire the services of people from around the world for just $5—and have my Facebook cover photo done in the style of Breaking Bad (Fiverr.com/BreakingBadCoverPhoto).  All my friends liked it since it was one of the unique ways I could think of to pay tribute to such a good drama series on TV.

breaking_bangerter_bigger

Leave a comment