My first and last astrological reading

Astrology is thousands of years old.  History records that man has looked to the stars for guidance and reasons to explain what he could not understand about the world. For centuries, seers, diviners and fortune tellers have offered their services to make things clear to the confused, comfort the anxious, and help the undecided make a life-changing decision.  Many attest to how accurate astrological readings and predictions can be if done correctly.  Modern day astrologers use complex charts and diagrams in their efforts to map the movement of stars and planets to correlate them to a person’s personality and events happening in our world today.

I, however, remain a skeptic.

I believe in astronomy and physics. I believe that the universe is governed by physical laws which do not warrant a mystical or supernatural reason for its existence or behavior. I agree with our astrologers today that the cosmos is influenced by various energies and forces but I do not see a direct relationship with how a moon or a planet’s orbit around the sun could explain my sudden craving for pizza at 2:30 a.m.

I do give them the benefit of the doubt (and a slim one at that) because of an incident that happened to me not too long ago.  On a whim, I visited a local astrologer just to see where things would lead. I asked her to tell me three important things that I should look out for to avoid any bad luck that might be coming my way.  She asked me for my birthdate, my job, where I lived and a lot of other personal stuff.  Then she took out her charts and notebooks and proceeded to work.  After a few minutes, she told me that I was going to make a purchase I would not regret, become sick in a few days but recover quickly, and would need to buy a personal accessory soon.

To my surprise, all three came to pass!

I bought the TV I wanted, suffered from a bad case of allergies, which went away immediately, and had to replace my wristwatch.

Was she a good astrologer? Or did she notice the newspaper I brought with me had a picture of a TV set I encircled in red, and that I coughed  when her cat jumped on my lap and started sneezing which, in turn, made me bang my wrist on her living room table causing me to unhinge my watch?

I’m not so sure.  I’m still a skeptic, I’m afraid, but if you want to give it a try, choose from one   of these Astrology gigs on Fiverr (fiverr.com/l/astrology) and let me know how it turns out

ScreenHunter_09 Sep. 06 16.39

1 thought on “My first and last astrological reading

Leave a comment